top of page
  • Writer's pictureCarrie Powers

I Have Never Met Anyone Like You!


When I first became a teacher way back in 1996, I knew I had a great deal to learn on how to be an effective teacher. I knew I had enough heart and cared deeply about my students, yet I also knew that there was room for improvement. Those early years for me were all about trying new educational approaches in all subject areas, learning different classroom management strategies and learning from the best, the senior teachers at my school.


As a first year teacher in Papatoetoe, New Zealand, I was so fortunate to be assigned a senior teacher whom I could observe teaching and ask questions whenever I had a problem to solve in my class. That partnership was so vital to my growth as a teacher and one I knew was necessary. Naturally, it makes sense to rely on others as you begin your career, for they have already put in all the hard work and countless hours in the classroom. The senior teachers are the experts.


Looking back at the first 5 years of my teaching career, I would say unequivocally that it was a rough start. I was constantly trying to reach, help and empower all the students that were within my care each day in the class. I remember going home every day after school completely exhausted, and completely drained by Friday afternoon. In fact, I probably cared too much in those early years, for I desperately wanted all my students to succeed inside and outside the classroom. Ultimately, that kind of dedication takes a great deal of energy and effort.


I loved teaching. I also loved the variety of roles that I could take as a teacher. In my 26 year career, I have worn different hats in my profession and am proud to say that I have been a Science, Health and Physical Education, Special Education and classroom teacher. In each role, I learned how to be effective. During my summers, I would dedicate myself to reading educational books written by experts in the field of education, always striving to learn new ways of teaching and reaching the students within my care to the best of my ability.


Fast forward 13 years and I found myself as a grade 1 teacher in a small Catholic School in North Vancouver. That was a tough teaching gig! The school board there still had high student numbers in the classroom and I had to adjust to being the ‘best teacher’ to 29 little ones. Simply put, all my years of experience were being put to the test. My constant thought was, “How am I going to survive this year?” and, “Still love my job!”


A moment of clarity for me arrived one Fall afternoon as I was having a parent-teacher conference that made all the hard years of work suddenly feel weightless. A teaching moment occurred that I will never forget. The parents in front of me were so gracious, so kind and very complimentary. For the past two months of grade 1, I had been teaching their son who has autism and had been trying ‘my best’ to include him in all lessons inside and outside the classroom. It was his first time in a Catholic school and his kindergarten years were not kind to him. The parents entered my classroom with a big smile on their faces. When it comes to parent-teacher interviews, I always start off by saying something positive about their child and what they are doing well in the classroom as they adjust to being in grade 1. As I was going through my entry speech, (as I like to call it), the mom kindly interrupted me and said, “Ms. Powers, I have never met anyone (a teacher) like you!” Those words were so powerful, I quickly went silent. I was starting to feel emotional. When I regained my composure, I thanked the parents for saying those kind words and told them that I got into teaching to make a difference in children’s lives and that is my goal each time I step into the classroom.


Funny enough, they wanted to know where I learned my teaching craft. My answer was, “I am from Ontario and have had teaching experiences all over the world. I have learned so much with each passing year, for the students' needs in front of me have been so diverse and so unique.” They were so impressed, I was then starting to feel a little uncomfortable again. I thanked them for their comments and continued on with the conference feeling a new sense of pride.


Upon reflection afterward as the conference had come to an end, I thought to myself, “Had I finally arrived? Was I indeed a ‘pro-teacher’? Had I finally reached my goal to be the best I could be??” Maybe, just maybe.


Fast forward 4 more years and now I found myself back living in my home province of Ontario after living 9 years away in Quebec and British Columbia. I was excited to be back home, my original home where I grew up and started my career in teaching.


On a more regular basis I was hearing from parents how they respected my approach with kids and how much of a difference I was really making in their child’s life. It was actually becoming a little bit embarrassing for me, for I was raised to be humble and was not used to hearing such accolades in regards to my ability as a teacher. At that time, I was working in an all girls private school as their Health and Physical Education (HPE) teacher and loved being physical with the girls. At this point in my career, I can say with complete confidence that I made a conscious decision to be my authentic self as a teacher and have fun with the kids every day. I loved the new me!


After my contract ended with the private school, I was looking for a new direction in teaching. I had spent 22 fantastic years working in various schools in Chile, New Zealand and across Canada and I was looking for a new challenge. After a lot of deep thought, reflection and countless late night talks with my husband (who happens to be a teacher too), I decided that I would start my own business helping students find success that have unique learning needs. Perhaps, it was the ideal time. You see, in 2016 when I graduated from UBC with my masters in Special Education, I had made a long term goal of starting my own tutoring business. I had no idea then that my goal would be realized in a short 2 year span, instead of 10 years, as I originally had planned. I left that last teaching gig at the private school in 2018 and put all my energy into setting up a tutoring company that focuses on helping each child find and be successful in school.


Now I am in my fifth year and I feel so proud to report that the business is successful and I strive each day to make a difference in each child’s life. I have the same goal as an educator that I had way back in 1996. I still feel the same fiery drive in my stomach to get up each morning and be the best for my students. They deserve it! And honestly, it is such a joy to see my students who often struggle in school ‘understand something’ for the first time or get a ‘good mark’ back in a subject that is hard for them or receive a report card with ‘improved grades.’ That is why I do what I do, to help as many kids as I can.


What’s next for me, do you say? I am not sure. All I know is that teaching as a ‘pro’ is very satisfying and I would not trade in any of my years as a teacher learning and growing for anything in the world. All the struggles, challenges, and problems along the way made me the strong teacher that I am today. I end this piece with a strong feeling of gratitude. Gratitude for the Principals that hired and believed in my ability as a teacher, gratitude for my first senior teacher, Mr. Singh, who showed me the way and lastly, gratitude to all the students in Chile, New Zealand and in Canada that taught me how to listen, be patient and be ever present for them when they needed me. I hope to have many more years in my career, in order to spend more time guiding and helping students of all ages. I am here to tell you, being a ‘pro’ is great and a goal worth working towards in education.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page